Getting My Softie-making Ducks in a Row

Okay, the title may be a bit misleading.  I’m not making any ducks – at the moment – but I am getting myself organized and taking things slow with this new softie ‘relationship’.

Usually, with crafty stuff, I just dive right in.  Sure, sometimes the directions get a glance over, but not always.  Because I’ve usually stuck with things I’m comfortable with – things that I can (somewhat) figure out on my own or at least fake and make up as I go to my own satisfaction.

Softies and stuffed animals intimidate me… that’s why it’s taken me so long to actually even try to make some.  So, I feel like I need to get organized here.

softie starting

Along with the intimidation was the ready excuse that I didn’t have enough time, because I’d see a pattern in a book I’d like to try, but then I’d have to copy or trace the pattern and get it all cut out and on and on the excuses went.  Well, I took care of the first step the other night.  I went through these three books from my shelf and traced ALL the projects I wanted to make.

books

On the same page I jotted down the book it came from, the title of the project and the page it was on so all the info will be there for me when I get to it!

softie binder

Then I put each pattern in it’s own protective sleeve and put them all together in a binder for easy visibility.

Whew, I feel better already!  Softies – here I come!

Leave a comment