Making Do and Refashioning Baby Clothes

For the rest of the week I’m going to share some re-fashions I’ve done with Eleanor’s clothes.  So far I’ve done all the re-fashioning by hand, mostly during nap times or on the couch after they little ones go to bed.

Before:

DSC_0010

A long sleeve polka dot t-shirt and a thrifted purple t-shirt from my stash (a big one – just got it to cut up and use the fabric).

And After!

DSC_0095

Cute little cap-sleeved dress.  She did that posing all by herself! 😉

I kept this polka dot shirt because I thought it was so cute even though it’s hot here now and it won’t fit her when it gets colder.  It also didn’t fit over her head, but I just couldn’t part with it.  I’m so glad I kept it!

DSC_0100

Here’s the link I used to get the right measurements for the skirt part.  SO helpful!

The sleeves got cut off (just a straight cut from the arm pit, up) and a skirt sewn on to the bottom (I did cut off the hem of the gray shirt to reduce the bulk).  No hem needed on the purple skirt because I was able to just use the bottom hem of the thrifted shirt!  Easy!

DSC_0111

I put a little slit in the back of the collar to help it over her head, then added a little button from the stash and a tiny crochet chain loop to close it.

There are no plans on the horizon to finish the raw edges.  It’s already been washed several times and is holding up well.

DSC_0102

I think she likes it! 😉

One thought on “Making Do and Refashioning Baby Clothes

Leave a Reply

